Ebay Seller ajbm and a Suspicious Bidder


July 14, UPDATE: The same bidder again participated in the most recent ajbm auction that I’ve tracked, and again, didn’t win. This time he placed two bids on this auction, a 1998 Ionix Warp Zone.

So, there are accusations and assumptions made from various board members in quite a few forums regarding the validity of the Michael Jordan market on ebay. I don’t doubt that there are some suspicious sellers/bidders out there. The thing with the detractors is that no one is willing to put out any names to be aware of.

Other than the recent wegotstock99/jordan_patch23/bondgirl_007/jrsmith23 (now known as legacy_pmg_rubies) fiasco, the calling out of various Michael Jordan card sellers is usually vague.

Today, while surfing ebay, I noticed something that I’m willing to point out and supply information that I think validates my opinion.

Ebay seller ajbm has sold fifteen Michael Jordan cards since May 9, 2011.

There is a bidder known as “a***i” with zero feedback who has bid on 7 of ajbm’s 14 auctions. I’ve looked at the seller feedback of ajbm and found this:

1
Here is the bid history on a 1995 Stadium Club Warp Zone. The bidder put 1 bid in.

2
Here is the bid history for a 1997 Skybox Premium Golden Touch. The bidder put in 3 bids.

3
Here is the bid history for a 1996 Z-Force Slam Cam. The bidder put in 3 bids.

4
Here is the bid history for a 1997 Bowman’s Best Best Techniques Atomic Refractor. The bidder put in 1 bid.

5
Here is the bid history for a 1997 Z-Force Rave /399. The bidder put in 2 bids.

6
Here is the bid history for a 1997 Skybox Premium Premium Players. The bidder put in 2 bids.

7
Here is the bid history for a 1996 EX Net Assets. The bidder put in 1 bid.

Here is his bidding history in the last thirty days:

He has bid on 71 different items, and has won exactly NONE of them. On top of that, the last 30 days, 45% of his bids are with this seller alone. Odd.

The buyers of the cards above all have already left positive feedback for the seller, so he definitely delivers the cards. If they are happy with the card and the price they paid, it is all irrelevant.

I honestly don’t like playing detective, so I’m not out to investigate every single seller, but this just caught my eye because I think it is somewhat blatant.

Am I wrong? Do you agree? Let me hear your thoughts.


Leave a comment